Interruptor Background 02

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

The EDI working group seeks to address imbalances in the European quantum community.

Despite the progress that has been made in getting women into science at the university level, there remains a challenge to ensure the promotion of women to senior positions, increase their representation as conference presenters, chairs, and, in general, their equal treatment. Many countries, institutions and national research initiatives have developed programmes to help support women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths (STEM), areas which have a good overlap with the diverse fields involved in Quantum Technologies. In industry, we see similar challenges.

The Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Working Group (EDI-WG) of the Quantum Flagship is led by the current CSA. However, most of its members are individuals from the European quantum community offering their time and expertise on a pro-bono basis. See the list of the members below.

Initiatives of the EDI-WG include:

If you wish to get in touch with the EDI workgroup, feel free to send us an email at

EDI Working Group Members

Name Affiliation Country
Araceli Venegas-Gomez QURECA Spain
Clifford Murray VDI Technologiezentrum Germany
Costanza Toninelli (co-chair) CNR-NIO Italy
Irene D’Amico University of York UK
Klaus Jöns Paderborn University Germany
Lydia González Orta FECYT Spain

Lydia Sanmartí-Vila (chair)

ICFO Spain
Oxana Mishina CNR-IOM c/o UniTS Italy
Rob Thew University of Geneva Switzerland
Roberta Zambrini CSIC Spain
Senaida Hernández Santana BBVA Spain
Shaeema Zaman Science Melting Pot Denmark
Tommaso Calarco QCN Germany
Tzula Propp Technical University Delft Netherlands
Ziyad Amodjee CNRS France