Gender Equality Work Group

Despite the progress that has been made in getting women into science at the university level, there remains a challenge to ensure the promotion of women to senior positions, increase their representation as conference presenters, chairs, and, in general, their equal treatment. Many countries, institutions and national research initiatives have developed programmes to help support women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths (STEM), areas which have a good overlap with the diverse fields involved in Quantum Technologies. In industry, we see similar challenges.

We will create a database of key actors and interested parties, as well as a collection of best practices, which can help raise awareness and develop a coherent and efficient strategy for the realisation of gender equality in Quantum Technologies. This would also provide a go-to resource to facilitate increased participation of women in conferences and workshops.

We aim to facilitate the development of a network of women in Quantum Technologies, as well as establishing connections to gender equality programmes being run, or under development, throughout Europe. We will start feasibility studies on initiatives that could be adopted and incorporated by the whole Quantum Technologies community. For example: the development of unconscious bias training and support; promotion of a Women in Quantum Technologies network; mentoring programmes, and gender awareness ambassadors to give talks and information about gender inequality in scientific meetings. We will also initiate a charter for gender equality at conferences pledging to monitor and report on gender statistics at conferences, and in conjunction with the event coordination activities, ensure that women are well represented at Quantum Flagship events.

Work Group Members

Name Affiliation Country email adress
Chiara Macchiavello University of Pavia Italy chiara@unipv.it
Lydia Sanmartí-Vila ICFO Spain lydia.sanmarti@icfo.eu
Géraldine Haack University of Geneva Switzerland geraldine.haack@unige.ch
Christiane Koch University of Kassel Germany christiane.koch@uni-kassel.de
Oxana Mishina Technical University Braunschweig Germany omishina@gmail.com
Ruth Oulton University of Bristol UK ruth.oulton@bristol.ac.uk
Iuliana Radu IMEC Belgium iuliana.radu@imec.be
Paola Verrucchi University of Florence Italy verrucchi@fi.infn.it
Stephanie Wehner Technical University Delft Netherlands s.d.c.wehner@tudelft.nl
Roberta Zambrini CSIC Spain roberta@ifisc.uib-csic.es
Rob Thew University of Geneva Switzerland robert.thew@unige.ch
Irene D’Amico University of York UK irene.damico@york.ac.uk
Araceli Venegas-Gomez University of Strathclyde UK araceli.venegas-gomez@strath.ac.uk